GolfHos
 
*
July 24, 2017, 09:31:56 PM
Username: Password: Duration:

Tech Question

 
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tech Question  (Read 7499 times)
0 Members and 1 Lurker/Spider are viewing this topic.
kstate
Mock-T

Karma: 1
Posts: 56
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Tech Question
« on: January 13, 2007, 12:40:08 PM »

My youngest got a Wii for Christmas.  Now he wants to connect it to the internet.  So off to Best Buy I go to get a wireless router.  The salespersons tells me it is very complicated to get the Wii configured to the wireless network.  He further tells me to get and encrypted wireless network (which would be nice to have) takes someone who is certified to do such things.  He says I need the Geek Squad which will only charge me $150.

I have technical skills but not nearly as much as some of you guys.  So,

Is it hard to change out my current router for a wireless one
Is it hard to set up a secure wireless network
Is it hard it configure a Wii to wireless network
Logged Return to Top
Aske
Lederhosen

Karma: 120
Posts: 31307
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2007, 12:56:00 PM »

no.
no.
no.
Logged Return to Top

Quote
Russia has invaded a sovereign neighboring state and threatens a democratic government elected by its people. Such an action is unacceptable in the 21st century.
--  Chimpy McFlightsuit, CEO of Bu$hco Industries of 'Merka
Teed
Tartan Jacket

Karma: 16
Posts: 1723
Offline Offline

No QB!!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2007, 01:13:51 PM »

no.
no.
no.


great help! Grin Cool Grin
Logged Return to Top

8 is Enough!
spacey
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: Group W Bench

Karma: 98
Posts: 7720
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2007, 02:34:48 PM »

I think TFT has his Wii set up to connect to the internet. Perhaps a PM to him might help.
Logged Return to Top
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2007, 02:46:59 PM »

The timing on this thread is ironic.

I pm'd dystopia with basically the same questions.

Only difference is I already bought a "WiFiMAX" wireless router designed especially for the Wii.

Problem:  The software is in, the Wii reads it, but fails to get an internet connection.

TFT, if you see this, any help? Sad Undecided


Oh, yeah.  I got a Wii.
Logged Return to Top
tdcoly
Tartan Jacket
From: The home of misfits, renegades, blowhards, idiots and fools.

Karma: 9
Posts: 1277
Offline Offline

Us Dags

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2007, 03:07:05 PM »

Run long cables. Devil
Logged Return to Top

"I'm only speeding 'cause I really have to poop"-as seen on a bumper sticker
Teed
Tartan Jacket

Karma: 16
Posts: 1723
Offline Offline

No QB!!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2007, 03:10:03 PM »

Run long cables. Devil

LOL...really long cables.
Logged Return to Top

8 is Enough!
Clive
Full Metal Jacket

Karma: 77
Posts: 4358
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2007, 04:41:03 PM »

Reall, really, really long cables.
Logged Return to Top
TFT
Straitjacket

Karma: 30
Posts: 2159
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2007, 06:38:05 PM »

Just set up the wireless router first.

I have machines in the office hard wired to it, then the rest in the house use the wireless.

The wireless router should just drop in where the old one was, you may need to configure it and update firmware or whatever.  Instructions will come with it how to go about this.  Same way as you fixed your old one up, pretty much.

The 'secure' part is just to enable the options in the software and put a password in, easier than joining a golf forum.

Once you know the wireless network is up and running, go to the Wii.  Navigate to the Internet section, tell it to look for the signal.  (set up connection, whatever it says).  It will go searching, when it finds it enter the password details and it should let the Wii in.

Once you have the wireless net working the Wii is easy.  Erm, unless you are stroh.

Logged Return to Top

TFT
Straitjacket

Karma: 30
Posts: 2159
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2007, 06:38:48 PM »

stroh, does it give an error message?

Do you have it encrypted?
Logged Return to Top

kstate
Mock-T

Karma: 1
Posts: 56
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2007, 07:55:36 PM »

Just set up the wireless router first.

I have machines in the office hard wired to it, then the rest in the house use the wireless.

The wireless router should just drop in where the old one was, you may need to configure it and update firmware or whatever.  Instructions will come with it how to go about this.  Same way as you fixed your old one up, pretty much.

The 'secure' part is just to enable the options in the software and put a password in, easier than joining a golf forum.

Once you know the wireless network is up and running, go to the Wii.  Navigate to the Internet section, tell it to look for the signal.  (set up connection, whatever it says).  It will go searching, when it finds it enter the password details and it should let the Wii in.

Once you have the wireless net working the Wii is easy.  Erm, unless you are stroh.



What if I want to use WPA with my wireless network?
Logged Return to Top
TFT
Straitjacket

Karma: 30
Posts: 2159
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2007, 08:48:09 PM »


What if I want to use WPA with my wireless network?

I just went up and had a look.

The Wii can use WEP and 3 versions of WPA.

Same place in the internet bit where you set up the connection.


Logged Return to Top

dystopia
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: Silicon Valley

Karma: 94
Posts: 7886
Offline Offline


View Profile WWWIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2007, 09:34:09 PM »

I just tried setting up my wii on my wireless tonight and it went smoothly.

The wii network setup is pretty smooth, they had many security options (WEP, WPA, etc.).  I use WEP, and entered my key and it worked.  The update took forever, though, but getting connected wasn't bad.

I agree, with TFT to just get the wireless network up and running on a computer first, then the wii should be easy.  Let us know if you have trouble getting the wireless network up and running, we might be able to help.

« Last Edit: January 13, 2007, 09:40:23 PM by dystopia » Logged Return to Top
dystopia
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: Silicon Valley

Karma: 94
Posts: 7886
Offline Offline


View Profile WWWIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2007, 09:39:44 PM »

stroh, does it give an error message?

Do you have it encrypted?

stoh's problem is pretty tricky because he's using a wifimax and not a normal wireless network, which is odd because I would have expected a wifimax to be pretty seamless to install, since it seems to be designed for game consoles.

The error that stroh is getting is 52030.

Googling that error message shows that a lot of people are getting that error message:
http://forums.nintendo.co...ernet&message.id=4803

This guy was able to get his wifimax working, but he jumped through a lot of hoops. 
http://forums.gametrailer...om/showthread.php?t=51234
To me it seems easier to just get a regular wireless router up and running.
Logged Return to Top
TFT
Straitjacket

Karma: 30
Posts: 2159
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Tech Question
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2007, 09:58:02 PM »

To me it seems easier to just get a regular wireless router up and running.


I'm afraid I agree.

Nintendo bit on it....

http://www.nintendo.com/c...na/errors/52000-52099.jsp
Logged Return to Top

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Return to Top
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Related Posts
Another Tech Question
Thai is what I thought.  I sent an email to tech support.
by kstate

Dumb question
Nope, does not remind me of Alfred Hitchcock.Oh, and to borrow a small phrase fr
by E-A-G-L-E!

Audio Tech Question
I'm relatively tech savvy, but I'm not even sure what to call what I a
by stegerman

Tech question - Winblows and RAM
:'(
by Aske

 


 
  Powered by SMF | SMF © 2001-2009, Lewis Media

Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM