GolfHos
 
*
August 22, 2017, 03:36:46 PM
Username: Password: Duration:

Is he breaking the rule?

 
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is he breaking the rule?  (Read 5274 times)
0 Members and 1 Lurker/Spider are viewing this topic.
andylo
Mock-T

Karma: 5
Posts: 95
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Is he breaking the rule?
« on: January 29, 2008, 09:10:16 PM »

I've been playing with this guy for a while. He's a great driver!

But on every full shot he play, he stand behind the ball, lining up... then just before he finish, he put his feet about 1/2 feet behind the ball, and just drag along the ground and leave a shoe width mark that has the length of about another feet.

Then more than obvious he's using this line as a guildline to adjust his posture, take away, then follow thru the ball with the club aligned to the line.

Etiquette wise certainly is poor, but is he breaking the rule? What plenaty he will receive officially?
Logged Return to Top
Clive
Full Metal Jacket

Karma: 77
Posts: 4358
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2008, 09:46:40 PM »

Quote
8-2. Indicating Line of Play
a. Other Than on Putting Green

Except on the putting green, a player may have the line of play indicated to him by anyone, but no one may be positioned by the player on or close to the line or an extension of the line beyond the hole while the stroke is being made. Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made.

Penalty for Breach of Rule:
Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.


13-2. Improving Lie, Area of Intended Stance or Swing, or Line of Play
A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
    the position or lie of his ball,
    the area of his intended stance or swing,
    his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole, or
    the area in which he is to drop or place a ball,
by any of the following actions:
    pressing a club on the ground,
    moving, bending or breaking anything growing or fixed (including immovable obstructions and objects defining out of bounds),
    creating or eliminating irregularities of surface,
    removing or pressing down sand, loose soil, replaced divots or other cut turf placed in position, or
    removing dew, frost or water.

However, the player incurs no penalty if the action occurs:
    in grounding the club lightly when addressing the ball,
    in fairly taking his stance,
    in making a stroke or the backward movement of his club for a stroke and the stroke is made,
    in creating or eliminating irregularities of surface within the teeing ground (Rule 11-1) or in removing dew, frost or water from the teeing ground, or
    on the putting green in removing sand and loose soil or in repairing damage (Rule 16-1).

Penalty for Breach of Rule:
Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.
Note that creating an irregularity in 13-2 refers to an irregularity on which to tee the ball, not to irregularities used as alignment aids.
Logged Return to Top
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 11:06:29 AM »

Uisce Beatha is a poopy head.
Logged Return to Top
andylo
Mock-T

Karma: 5
Posts: 95
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2008, 03:32:48 PM »

Sorry Clive, I am...  Sad just have poor reading ability and even poorer ability to analysis long piece of article.

Can I just have a simple answer of yes and no please?

Logged Return to Top
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 03:49:49 PM »

Yes.  He is cheating.
Logged Return to Top
Clive
Full Metal Jacket

Karma: 77
Posts: 4358
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2008, 06:05:18 PM »

Violating Rule 8-2(a), 13-2, or both.

I reserve "cheater" for deliberate violations to gain advantage.  Not enough information here to decide, not that it makes a difference to the penalty (two strokes in stroke-play, loss of hole in match-play).
Logged Return to Top
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2008, 06:48:39 PM »

Violating Rule 8-2(a), 13-2, or both.

I reserve "cheater" for deliberate violations to gain advantage.  Not enough information here to decide, not that it makes a difference to the penalty (two strokes in stroke-play, loss of hole in match-play).

 Scratches Head

.........drag .......... and leave a shoe width mark.........

.........more than obvious he's using this line as a guildline to adjust his posture, take away, then follow thru the ball with the club aligned to the line.

Logged Return to Top
Clive
Full Metal Jacket

Karma: 77
Posts: 4358
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2008, 07:42:40 PM »

I'd have to see it.

FWIW, different sport, but I've seen guys in kendo with idiosyncrasies that might at first blush appear to be delibeate, but aren't.
Logged Return to Top
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2008, 08:11:52 PM »

Kendo?  Isn't that where guys dress up in Karate costumes and try to whack each other with wooden sticks?

They got rules in that?
Logged Return to Top
Aske
Lederhosen

Karma: 120
Posts: 31307
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2008, 08:27:55 PM »

i say banninante him
Logged Return to Top

Quote
Russia has invaded a sovereign neighboring state and threatens a democratic government elected by its people. Such an action is unacceptable in the 21st century.
--  Chimpy McFlightsuit, CEO of Bu$hco Industries of 'Merka
Seamus
Straitjacket

Karma: 52
Posts: 2376
Offline Offline

I'm a juvenile acting product of the working class

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2008, 08:14:23 AM »

Making a mark in the ground to adjust to, against the rules. Now if he had a caddy line him up...

Maybe he doesn't know it's against the rules, tell him it is, if he continues to do it then Clives' "deliberate" comes in to play.

And as Atticus, I mean Clive said.
8-2. Indicating Line of Play
Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made.
Logged Return to Top
Clive
Full Metal Jacket

Karma: 77
Posts: 4358
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2008, 08:32:08 AM »

Or just bring a compass and ****ton with your for your next round, determine your line, then pull out a chalker and snap a chalk line down on the ground to line up with.  When he asks WTF, point out it's perhaps more elaborate but no different in the Rules than his little foot-swipe mark.

("Snap a chalk line" is a registered trademark of Clive On Rules, Ltd. and Clive On pr, LLP.)
Logged Return to Top
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2008, 08:47:33 AM »

 Spit Take Rolling
Logged Return to Top
andylo
Mock-T

Karma: 5
Posts: 95
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2008, 07:27:26 PM »

Played a praccy round with him yesterday for 9 holes and when I told him about this, he said: "Yeah, I know" and give me this look --->  Grin

Then we both laughed.

Its just social golf... I guess I got a little too concerned  Tongue
Logged Return to Top
Uisce Beatha
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: In the Jar

Karma: 116
Posts: 7357
Offline Offline

Get me the tank!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: Is he breaking the rule?
« Reply #14 on: February 01, 2008, 11:43:16 AM »

Uisce Beatha is a poopy head.

That's not very nice. 
Logged Return to Top

"If you're darker than a caramel, Reverend Al speaks for you." - Aasif Mandvi
"Well, you can tell by the way I use my walk, I'm a woman's man: no time to talk." - stroh
Pages: [1] 2   Return to Top
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Related Posts
.. and so it begins...
You appear to be trying to have it both ways:'Phil is not cheating, but he
by MFAWG

.. and so it begins...
Sorry can't have a discussion with someone who continually puts words in my
by birdymaker

Rough day at work
What I did Monday should have gotten me canned (kinda like breaking a cardinal r
by tdcoly

Six Degrees of Ritchie Blackmore
My hrair limit is five.
by Uisce Beatha

 


 
  Powered by SMF | SMF © 2001-2009, Lewis Media

Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM