GolfHos
 
*
September 24, 2017, 03:55:26 PM
Username: Password: Duration:

round that isn't being used towards your index..

 
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: round that isn't being used towards your index..  (Read 4850 times)
0 Members and 1 Lurker/Spider are viewing this topic.
Aske
Lederhosen

Karma: 120
Posts: 31307
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
round that isn't being used towards your index..
« on: January 13, 2007, 08:20:44 AM »

you hit one and can't find it.

stroke and drop where you think it realistically was or last saw it to be?

or

walk back to the tee







?








ps, are you a drunk driver
?
Logged Return to Top

Quote
Russia has invaded a sovereign neighboring state and threatens a democratic government elected by its people. Such an action is unacceptable in the 21st century.
--  Chimpy McFlightsuit, CEO of Bu$hco Industries of 'Merka
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2007, 08:47:02 AM »

Are you asking how we play it, or for a ruling?

I usually drop, with a stroke.



and yes.

Logged Return to Top
spacey
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: Group W Bench

Karma: 98
Posts: 7720
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2007, 08:52:58 AM »

Given how crowded courses can get, walking back to the tee to hit another in most cases just simply isn't a realistic option. I'll drop and take a stroke. I probably should tee it up from the fairway though.
Logged Return to Top
Aske
Lederhosen

Karma: 120
Posts: 31307
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2007, 08:59:25 AM »

Are you asking how we play it, or for a ruling?

I usually drop, with a stroke.



and yes.




i know the rules on this topic, i was just asking what you do.
 Smiley
Logged Return to Top

Quote
Russia has invaded a sovereign neighboring state and threatens a democratic government elected by its people. Such an action is unacceptable in the 21st century.
--  Chimpy McFlightsuit, CEO of Bu$hco Industries of 'Merka
1puttpar
Vest & Plus Fours
From: Loomis, CA

Karma: 16
Posts: 717
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2007, 09:02:37 AM »

If the round isn't being used for handicap purposes, i.e., just practicing, trying new clubs, etc. I don't even keep score, so I would just drop in the vicinity and play on.  Any round for real, I play by the rules.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2007, 09:11:01 AM by 1puttpar » Logged Return to Top

I really hate Vista
Uisce Beatha
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: In the Jar

Karma: 116
Posts: 7357
Offline Offline

Get me the tank!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2007, 09:04:07 AM »

Oh goodie!!!   Roolz stuff.  Drool

The walk of shame isn't a realistic option in many, many cases.  Under these circumstances I simply finish the hole with a drop and score it under 4-2.

Quote
4-2. Holes Not Played or Not Played Under The Rules of Golf

If a player does not play a hole or plays it other than under The Rules of Golf (except for preferred lies), the score recorded for that hole for handicap purposes must be par plus any handicap strokes the player is entitled to receive on that hole. This hole score, when recorded, should be preceded by an "X."

Example: A player with a Course Handicap of 10 receives a handicap stroke on the first 10 allocated handicap-stroke holes. If the player does not play the sixth allocated handicap-stroke hole which is a par 4 because of construction on the green, the player must record a score of par plus one for handicap purposes, or X-5. (See Section 5-2b.)

Note: A score must not be posted if the majority of the holes are not played under the principles of The Rules of Golf.

Note that this has nothing to do with whether the round is going to count toward your index.  It is going to come into the calculation unless it's otherwise disqualified so you really must  Wink proceed according to the Handicap System manual.  Even if the round doesn't count in your differentials it pushes something off the back so it's part of the equation.

Oh, the status of the match?  You're disqualified in stroke play and lose the hole in match play.  I've lost a good few beers this way but it's the right result.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2007, 09:06:02 AM by Uisce Beatha » Logged Return to Top

"If you're darker than a caramel, Reverend Al speaks for you." - Aasif Mandvi
"Well, you can tell by the way I use my walk, I'm a woman's man: no time to talk." - stroh
Uisce Beatha
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: In the Jar

Karma: 116
Posts: 7357
Offline Offline

Get me the tank!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2007, 09:05:17 AM »

i know the rules on this topic, i was just asking what you do.
 Smiley

 Angry

Never mind then.






 Wink
Logged Return to Top

"If you're darker than a caramel, Reverend Al speaks for you." - Aasif Mandvi
"Well, you can tell by the way I use my walk, I'm a woman's man: no time to talk." - stroh
spacey
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: Group W Bench

Karma: 98
Posts: 7720
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2007, 09:06:07 AM »

I don't keep an official index/handicap (I don't think the system is geared to count that high) but if I think there's even a chance that I've lost the ball, I will almost always hit a provisional ball from the tee.
Logged Return to Top
Aske
Lederhosen

Karma: 120
Posts: 31307
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2007, 09:07:02 AM »

I don't keep an official index/handicap (I don't think the system is geared to count that high) but if I think there's even a chance that I've lost the ball, I will almost always hit a provisional ball from the tee.


ding ding ding winner.

i usually play 6-8 provisionals a round. 

courses here aren't conducive to seeing your tee shot finish
Logged Return to Top

Quote
Russia has invaded a sovereign neighboring state and threatens a democratic government elected by its people. Such an action is unacceptable in the 21st century.
--  Chimpy McFlightsuit, CEO of Bu$hco Industries of 'Merka
Uisce Beatha
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: In the Jar

Karma: 116
Posts: 7357
Offline Offline

Get me the tank!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2007, 09:08:51 AM »

I don't keep an official index/handicap (I don't think the system is geared to count that high) but if I think there's even a chance that I've lost the ball, I will almost always hit a provisional ball from the tee.


ding ding ding winner.

i usually play 6-8 provisionals a round. 

courses here aren't conducive to seeing your tee shot finish


I've lost balls in the middle of the fairway before.  It does come up even with liberal utilization of provisionals.
Logged Return to Top

"If you're darker than a caramel, Reverend Al speaks for you." - Aasif Mandvi
"Well, you can tell by the way I use my walk, I'm a woman's man: no time to talk." - stroh
spacey
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: Group W Bench

Karma: 98
Posts: 7720
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2007, 09:14:57 AM »

I don't keep an official index/handicap (I don't think the system is geared to count that high) but if I think there's even a chance that I've lost the ball, I will almost always hit a provisional ball from the tee.


ding ding ding winner.

i usually play 6-8 provisionals a round. 

courses here aren't conducive to seeing your tee shot finish


I've lost balls in the middle of the fairway before.  It does come up even with liberal utilization of provisionals.

lol. I've lost balls that I've watched come to a complete stop. In that case, the walk of shame being generally unrealistic, I'll drop and take a stroke. Like I said, though, I don't keep an index. I've also been informed that the game I play is not "golf."
Logged Return to Top
Uisce Beatha
Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
From: In the Jar

Karma: 116
Posts: 7357
Offline Offline

Get me the tank!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2007, 09:22:56 AM »

I've also been informed that the game I play is not "golf."

I don't find that sort of statement useful at all.  You may not be playing the full round 100% in accord with the Rules of Golf but it's still golf... clearly.  And it's good enough for the USGA Handicap System.

When someone brings that all it does is piss off the person at whom it is directed.   Sad
Logged Return to Top

"If you're darker than a caramel, Reverend Al speaks for you." - Aasif Mandvi
"Well, you can tell by the way I use my walk, I'm a woman's man: no time to talk." - stroh
stroh
Sleeveless Hoodie
From: Impact Crater Springs, CA

Karma: 155
Posts: 16135
Offline Offline

We're doomed!

View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2007, 09:25:50 AM »

I can't add anything of use to this topic.
Logged Return to Top
Clive
Full Metal Jacket

Karma: 77
Posts: 4358
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2007, 11:20:55 AM »

round that isn't being used towards your index..
Since you're not asking a rules question ... can I ask why the round "isn't being used towards your index" (assuming you keep one)?
Logged Return to Top
Clive
Full Metal Jacket

Karma: 77
Posts: 4358
Offline Offline


View ProfileIgnore this user
Re: round that isn't being used towards your index..
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2007, 11:21:28 AM »

I can't add anything of use to this topic.
That hasn't stopped you the other 1868 times.
Logged Return to Top
Pages: [1] 2 3   Return to Top
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Related Posts
Golfhos Ryder Cup, Final Round Results
Had a good round yesterday but I did not designate it my GHRC round.  Clive
by Uisce Beatha

Handicap indexes are funny old things...
My index has stayed relatively constant at 9.4 and here are my last 10 scores:82
by Walfredo

Golfhos Ryder Cup, Final Round Results
Flaming?On my end, I've not touched a club since last round.  Well, I
by Clive

Golfhos Ryder Cup, Third/Final Round FORMAT
Due to my stellar play in the Ho-cup, my index has fallen to 14.1.
by 1puttpar

 


 
  Powered by SMF | SMF © 2001-2009, Lewis Media

Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM